In June 2020 professor Jerzy Duszyński, president of the Polish Academy of Sciences, has brought to life the COVID-19 advisory team. It was created to monitor the evolution of the illness, to analyze the potential scenarios for the progression of the pandemic and to formulate the recommendations of the Academy.The members of the advisory team will collaborate with other European institutions tasked with the same goal. The purpose of the team is to react and to counter the COVID-19 pandemic.

The report was prepared by the COVID-19 advisory team to the president of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAS), Prof. Jerzy Duszyński. The report was published on the 14th of September, and it summarizes the current state of knowledge regarding the SARS-CoV-19 pandemic. It contains information regarding the pathogenesis of the disease, the symptoms, the course of the pandemic, its stages, and results. It also includes tips for preventing the infection and the progress on the vaccine development. You can find it here. The report provides a prognosis for the pandemic in the fall-winter season.

The advisory team, in addition to the aforementioned report, also regularly publishes statements regarding the progression of the SARS-CoV-19 pandemic. All the articles can be found here in Polish.

Following scientists, representing many research fields, are a part of the advisory team:

Prof. Jerzy Duszyński, PhD, DSC. team leader,

Prof. Krzysztof Pyrć, PhD, DCS – virologist, biologist, vice-chef of the team,

Aneta Afelt, PhD, – geographer,

Anna Ochab-Marcinek, PhD, DSC – theoretical physicist,

Prof. Radosław Owczuk, MD, PhD, DSC – medical doctor,

Prof. Magdalena Rosińska, MD, PhD, DSC – medical doctor, biostatistician,

Prof. Andrzej Rychard, PhD, DCS – sociologist,

Tomasz Smiatacz, MD, PhD, DSC – medical doctor.


Since December 1st following researchers are a part of the advisory team:

Prof. Małgorzata Kossowska – psychologist,

Prof. Wojciech Paczos – economist,

PhD Anna Plater-Zyber – ethnologist, secretary to the team.

Following people contributed significantly to the work and are acknowledged: Prof. Anna Gizy-Poleszczuk, Prof. Lidia Brydak, Prof. Mirosław Czuczwar, Prof. Jakub Gołąb, Prof. Wojciech Hanke, Prof. Wiesław Jędrzejczak, PhD Miron Kursa, Prof. Monika Stanny and Prof. Jerzy Wilkin, Prof. Radosław Markowski, PhD Henryk Banaszak, Mme Renata Kuskowska and Mme Anna Ciechurska